Posted in Uncategorized

‘The Liar’ by Hovhannes Tumanyan-Սուտասան

Once upon a time  there lived a king. This king announced  throughout the land:

“I will give half my kingdom  to the man who can tell a lie that I can agree that is a lie.”

shepherd  came and said, “My father has got a pipe . The pipe is very long and he can stir  the stars with it».

“That’s possible,” answered the King. “My grandfather had a pipe. He used to  put one end of it in his mouth and stretch (ձգել) the other up to the sun to light it.”

The man went out scratching  his head.

A tailor came and said, “I am sorry, O King, to have come so late. Wind , storm and

h, “I believe lightning  did not let me come early”. I was patching up the crack  of the sky.

“Oit is true,” said the King, “but you haven’t patched it very well, for it rained a little again this morning.

This man also went away empty-handed.

A villager came in with a bag on his shoulder. “What do you want, my good man?” asked the King. “You owe  me a bag of gold. I have come for it.” “A bag of gold!” exclaimed the King astonished. “That s a lie . I do not owe you anything.”

“All right. It is a lie. Then give me half your kingdom.”

“No, no. You’re quite right . It’s not a lie,” the king tried to correct  himself.

“So I am telling the truth. Then give me the bag of gold.”

Answer the questions:

1. What did the king say to all people?
I will give half my kingdom  to the man who can tell a lie that I can agree that is a lie

 

  1. Who came first?

shepherd  came first.

  1. What did he say?
    My father has got a pipe . The pipe is very long and he can stir the stars with it.

 

4.What was the king’s answer?

“That’s possible,” answered the King. “My grandfather had a pipe. He used to  put one end of it in his mouth and stretch (ձգել) the other up to the sun to light it.”

 

  1. Who came second?

A tailor came second.

 

6.What did he say?
I am sorry, O King, to have come so late. Wind , storm and lightning  did not let me come early”. I was patching up the crack  of the sky.

 

  1. What was the king’s reply

“Oit is true,” said the King, “but you haven’t patched it very well, for it rained a little again this morning.

8.Who came after the tailor?
A villager came in with a bag on his shoulder.

  1. What did he tell the king?
    You owe me a bag of gold. I have come for it.
  2. What did the king answer?
    A bag of gold!” exclaimed the King astonished. That s a lie.